Staying the Course

I’ve been attending Weight Watchers meetings and talking one-on-one with a WW Coach since the beginning of January.  I try to track as best as I can – usually at least 3 times a week.  And I do my best to be mindful of what I am eating.  Weight loss itself continues to be a struggle.  Have lost a few pounds – so that’s a good thing.

I want to stay upbeat and positive on this blog – do not want to be a “Debbie Downer”.

Debbie Downer

(I knew I could find a picture for this reference).

Wanted to share a recipe I found in the book Sheet Pan: Delicious Recipes for Hands-off Meals by Kate McMillan.

IMG_2049

I made the Pork & Green Chile Empanadas with Broccoli Rabe – pictured at the top and added in some salsa.  Weight Watchers Smart Points total for the meal was 6.  Not bad.  Here are my thoughts on the recipe.  This recipe called for 1lb of ground pork.  I cut this in 1/2 and added 1/2 lb of ground chicken.  The flavor and moistness was still all there.  The Empanadas was not dry at all.  It took 2 sheet pans as I doubled the recipe for the Empanadas and stuck the extra in the freezer after putting pork mixture into the pastry shell.

The recipe calls for roasting the Empanadas at 425 F for a total of 20 minutes – they came out perfectly.  However, the Broccoli Rabe went into the oven for 15 minutes – didn’t work as well.  The leaves were burnt and the stems were still a bit tough.  Not sure roasting the Broccoli Rabe was a good idea.  Finally, my last change to the recipe was due to not having enough of the called for ingredient – ground cumin.  As I doubled this recipe I need 2 Tablespoons of cumin.  I only had 1 Tablespoon left, so I added 1 Tablespoon of ground coriander.  With the addition of canned green chilis and minced garlic, the flavors all melded well.

Overall a very successful, healthy, low point value dinner.

And I’ll keep moving forward.

2 thoughts on “Staying the Course

    1. They were very good, and I am not a big fan of ground meat. For so few ingredients they were tasty, meat was not dried out and the pastry crust made them a little decadent. One pastry crust made 4 Empanadas – I made eight – Hubby and I had one each and I froze the rest. Bring a few into work next week as my co-workers want to give them a try.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

