Eating Free and Healthy

Lately all I have been doing is complaining and projecting my negativity on this journey of mine.  It is time to be positive.

Over the past two weeks I have been trying out some new healthy recipes and the following are three that I highly recommend.  All are not only heart healthy and low in sugar, but they delicious as well.  I ran them through the Weight Watchers recipe builder to provide the point values.

Starting with the recipe pictured above.  This came out of the most recent Eating Well Magazine.  Muffin Tin Quiches with Smoked Cheddar & Potato – 2 quiches = 8 Smart Points.  I made these on a recent Ladies weekend with friends and my daughter for breakfast and they were a big hit.  I substituted smoked jack cheese for the cheddar and would guess that you could substitute in smoked gouda and maybe even smoked mozzarella/provolone.  Must be smoked cheese though, as that is part of what makes these so tasty.  The leftovers I microwaved for 1 1/2 minutes and served with a nice salad for lunch at work yesterday.  Excellent.

Next up is Thai Coconut Curry Soup (EatingWell Magazine) at 4 Smart Points.

img_2023-copy
Thai Coconut Curry Soup

I subbed in Broccoli Rabe instead of Kale as Hubby is not fond of Kale.  This soup has loads of umami flavors with the shiitake and mixed fresh wild mushrooms added as well as the tamarin.  Spice comes from the two jalapenos and Thai red curry paste.  The tofu adds protein and this soup almost feels like a stew – nice and chunky.  You could add some brown rice to bulk it up even more, but I just take a nice piece of whole grain bread and sop it up.

In the end we always want something sweet.  Banana Bread Chocolate Chip Oat Bars (Ambitious Kitchen) nicely fit the bill.  Here 1 bar is 3 Smart Points.img_2028

No Dairy, No fat (except for the chocolate chips), low sugar and if you are careful in your purchase of oats as well as using agave and vegan chocolate chips – totally gluten free and vegan.  Now I am not vegan, nor gluten free so my chocolate chips were Ghirardelli Bittersweet Chocolate chips and my oats were just off the shelf rolled oats.  Quick cook rolled oats will work here as the oats become oat flour in a blender/food processor.  I also subbed maple syrup for the honey, which I think added a deeper sweetness.  These bars are very satisfying and for Dave and I have become our nighttime snack with a cup of herbal tea.

I also brought these bars with me to work on Valentine’s Day, as we were having Valentine Heart Healthy treats.  All the treats were real whole food with no additives and very little processed sugars.

img_2036

 

Leave a Reply

