Felling Defeated, Angry,and maybe a Little Depressed.

Why?  Because of Dieting.  I hate dieting – and call it anything you want – every thing out their that they are peddling is a DIET.  Here my definition of diet is “a special course of food to which one restricts oneself, either to lose weight or for medical reasons“.  You can couch the weight loss effort in any terms you would like to and say that your specific method is one that forms new habits, controls cravings, helps you eat intuitively – but they are all DIETS.

So let’s call a spade a spade.  Maybe we have to learn to accept that fact that some of us need to be on DIETS.  Some of us can not easily control what and how much we eat.  Maybe we are all food addicts.  We all need some type of food to survive, even if that food is a liquid protein drink.  And let’s not fool ourselves into thinking we can do this easily.  It will not be easy, no matter what they tell you.  You will be hungry, usually the worst is over after the first week of any diet.  You will feel deprived at some point – I have yet to find a way other than bingeing when I feel deprived (but I’m going to continue to work on that).  We will need to be mindful of what, when and where we eat.  And you will need to restrict your food intake.  There is not getting around these efforts, no matter what Diet or food plan you are on.

I am going to continue with Weight Watchers now.  I am sure I will have trying times, bingeing periods, and feelings of deprivation.  But I am going to embrace the word DIET and learn to accept that I have to make changes.  I can’t eat whatever I want.  I will need to change some habits and, I will need to start some new habits.

I’ll continue to share my challenges with you.

 

2 thoughts on “Felling Defeated, Angry,and maybe a Little Depressed.

    1. Thank you for the encouragement. Spoke with my Weight Watchers coach yesterday and felt better. It’s a journey, not a trip. Ups and downs are to be expected. We are not perfect and we need to accept that when it comes to healthy eating as with everything else.

      Like

Leave a Reply

