Week One of Weight Watchers

It’s been one week since I started with Weight Watchers (just thinking that I really hate that name – they need to rethink that as it really still makes it sound like a diet).  I talked to my phone coach last Tuesday, went to a meeting last week, and stuck to the plan.  Week one was good.  I am not going to discuss the results of the scale here, because my journey is so much more than a number on the scale.  What I will write about is other successes.

I love to cook, so one of the challenges I have given myself while following the Weight Watchers plan (and yes it involves counting points, but I think I need this to stay on track and know when I am bingeing or overeating) is to make sure I incorporate good food while continuing to cut back on added sugar, white wheat, limited dairy and certain types of fat.  One way for me to do this is to try new recipes and tweak those recipes my husband and I already love.

One such tweak of a recipe occurred this past weekend when I went back to that old standby breakfast I had while on the Whole30 of a Breakfast Clafoutis.  I tweaked the recipe by adding only 1/2 a cup of coconut milk along with 1/2 cup skim milk.  Instead of coconut oil (high in points), I substituted regular butter.  I actually think I like this a little better than the original as the skim milk lightened it up a little bit.  With six servings this became 4 Smart Points.  With a couple of pieces of bacon on the side I thoroughly enjoyed breakfast.  As I have noted before, a little drizzle of maple syrup ups the ante on this dish.

I also tried a recipe that came from Weight Watchers with my monthly pass – Crunchy Top Mac and Cheese. Of course I forgot to take a picture of this, but it was absolutely delicious at 7 Smart Points.  Added a nice big green salad to this and it was both dinner and I had lunch for the next day.  I’ve listed the ingredients below that I used – just note I skipped the butternut squash in the original recipe and the blending as I really couldn’t find acceptable squash at my local grocery store this week.  Just cook the pasta for only 1/2 the time listed on the box.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Use an 8 inch square baking dish (makes 4 servings) sprayed with non stick spray and bake for 25 minutes.

1 teaspoon olive oil heated in a skillet – add 1/2 cup panko and cook stirring until panko is nice and golden.

Cook 1 1/4 cups (4 ounces)pasta shells for 1/2 the cooking time stated on package in boiling water.  For last minute throw into boiling water with pasta 2 cups small cauliflower florets.

Mix together 3/4 cup vegetable broth, 1 cup reduced fat sharp cheddar, 2 tbsp grated pecorino, 2 tbsp light cream cheese (Neuchâtel), 1 tsp Dijon mustard, 3/4 tsp salt (I used kosher salt), 1/8 tsp cayenne.

Drain past and cauliflower and put into bowl with the rest of the ingredients and mix.  Pour into prepared baking dish and top with panko.  Bake for 25 minutes until golden and bubbly.

YUM 🙂

Leave a Reply

