Tis the Season……of FOOD.

READER BEWARE:  WARNING – DO NOT READ ANY FURTHER IF YOU ARE TRYING TO HAVE THE WILLPOWER OVER THE HOLIDAY SEASON TO DIET, RESTRICT YOUR INTAKE OF FOOD, AVOIDING SUGAR OR WATCHING YOU CARB INTAKE.  THE ROAD I AM ABOUT TO TRAVEL IS NOT PRETTY.  THE STORY I AM ABOUT TO TELL IS UGLY.

Still time to turn back…….No?  Okay.  Here is my story of the woman who could not say no.

Was the Tuesday before Christmas and the office was buzzing.  There were multiple meetings (all with food).  The Holiday baskets from vendors were arriving with good cheer and FOOD.  Everywhere one walked there was candy, cookies, cakes.  There was no safe haven in this office for anyone who might have wanted to escape the FOOD.

I started my morning well with a bowl of Cheerios, a banana and skim milk.  A cup of tea black was by my side as well.  On my way to work I was a little early, so I stopped for another cup of black tea at Starbucks.  So far so good.

As I walked in the office I was the second person in this day.  I enjoy being early as the office is quiet and peaceful.  It’s my most productive time of the day.  As the rest of my co-workers started to come in the FOOD started to appear. A tower of treats was placed out for all to enjoy.  Chocolate covered pretzels, old-fashioned candy melts, chocolate covered peanuts and nuts.  There was also the tin of Chocolate cookies that had been sent to me the previous week sitting out for all to enjoy.

A co-worker came by and dropped off home-made cookies (Italian Knots) to each person – two for each.  Home made are always the best, so my two cookies went down quickly with my cup of tea.  Call it my mid-morning tea snack.  And while I am at it, I may as well have one or two of those old-fashioned candy melts as well.

I was called up to the front of the office by another co-worker.  “Look what we got – two Cheesecakes”.  Now I am not a huge fan of Cheesecakes but these actually looked fresh and scratch made so maybe I would have to try a little.  A forkful latter I concurred that these were pretty good Cheesecakes.

Next was my meeting.  The vendor came in carrying not only lunch from Panera’s but a basket of goodies for me and my team.  Understand that I have been getting all types of goodies for the past week as well as everyone else in the office.  And we all love to share what we get.

My Panera lunch consisted of a ham and cheese sandwich (not the worst food in the world), salad and a bag of chips.  Okay, not too bad.  After the meeting we put the rest of the food in the lunch room (again in order to share with my office mates).  The other meeting in the office had finished their lunch as well, so their sandwiches were out.  What they also put out were the Dunkin Donuts that they had in the morning.  And there was that French Cruller sitting their calling my name.  It is never a good thing when you hear food talking to you.

So the French Cruller became my 2 pm treat with another cup of tea.  I’m seeing a trend here with the tea – I might have to re think my relationship with “Tea Time”.

After the French Cruller it was time to open that new basket with my team – the Swedish Fish and caramel went into my desk for my “emergency stash”.  Don’t know what emergency that may be, but I am prepared.  I had some more candy melts as well.  I then went to the mailroom to see if I had any mail and there were two styrofoam containers with dry ice and 36 mini Junior Cheesecakes with my name on them.  Oh My!

Half of these Cheesecakes went into the freezer in the lunch room, again for that emergency, and the other half went to a team member who loves these Cheesecakes.  She was also bringing some over to a Rehab center where her mother is currently convalescing.

Before leaving for the day I had a few more candy melts, a chocolate covered raison and cashew (just to see how they tasted).  I took home one of the baguette left over from lunch, along with a few of the treats from the basket received.

That night I had a pretty decent sized sandwich with a piece of the baguette, some Mortadella and some Tilsit Cheese.  Some left over chips on the side, two pieces of chocolate and a couple of cookies from my basket stash with a cup of herbal tea.  There is that tea again – a pattern is emerging.

Today is a new day and another look at all of that food in the office.  The funny thing is most of the food is not really that good.  My food splurges should be on food that is amazingly good – not on food (is candy really food?) that is mediocre at best.  I have to remember this.

True confessions aside for now – today is a new day and here is my affirmation for the day:

My efforts are being supported by the universe; my dreams manifest into reality before my eyes.

Leave a Reply

