Sheet Pan Supper

Before I get to that lovely stalk of Brussels Sprouts, I weighed myself today for the first time in a little over a month.  Yes the scale actually called out to me today.  It was neither a good experience or a bad experience.  The numbers were just numbers and confirmed how I have felt recently – having a little bit of excess weight on me than I want.  And I knew that without the scale.  If you haven’t read it yet, check out my little rant about scales here.

Back to the Brussels Sprouts.  One of the things I love about the Fall is Brussel Sprouts.  The local farm here has them in abundance, stalk and all.  When I was child I would never have thought of eating these sprouts, but I tried them about 15 years ago for the first time and fell in love.  Caution – if you have never tried Brussels Sprouts before and want to make sure that you love them – Do NOT, I say DO NOT, overcook them.  Roasting, either in the oven or a pan (usually with a little bacon) till tender and still nice and green (with some caramelization from the roasting) is a real treat.

I subscribe to a few food magazines, the rest of my recipes hunts are normally done through my addiction with cookbooks or via the internet (Pinterest is a favorite).  One of the magazines I subscribe to is Eating Well.  The current issue has a wonderful recipe called Roasted Gnocchi & Brussels Sprouts with Myer Lemon Vinaigrette.

Who knew that you could roast Gnocchi and that they would still plump up and be tender, with a hint of caramelization.  This was a revelation to me and I can see using versions of this recipe with different types of Gnocchi and different veggies (like cauliflower and broccoli).  I used Pumpkin Gnocchi that I purchased at Wegman’s, giving over to the Fall theme, and just used regular lemons (as it is very hard to find Meyer Lemons near me).  If you use regular lemons in this recipe, remove the ones you roasted – they have given off all of their flavor. I also added a sprinkle of freshly grated Parmesan, as cheese is never a bad thing.

Enjoy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

