Gluttony (or Dining Out)

The picture above is one of the examples of huge portions that some restaurants feel is necessary to satisfy their customers.  The picture is not pretty and when I saw this dish coming my way a few nights ago I started to feel sick.  I ordered what I had hoped was a really good Eggplant Parm – worthy of the splurge – and what I got was this huge square of oil drenched, breaded (why the breading when you have such nice eggplant?) food.  This mound had to be a good 6″ tall and 6″ square.

Gluttony “means over-indulgence and over-consumption of food, drink, or wealth items to the point of extravagance or waste.”  And it is considered one of the Seven Deadly Sins.  Deadly is spot on – for eating this much food at one sitting for every meal can certainly kill a person.  It reminds of the skit “Mr. Creosote Blows Up” in Monty Pythons The Meaning of Life.  (You can find this skit on YouTube – just a warning that it is not for the faint of heart).

Why is it that some restaurants and patrons believe that more food is better?  Gluttony is all around us when it comes to the over-consumption of food.  And we are all as much to blame as the restaurants themselves.  Watch a buffet line – a place where you know you can always go back for more food – and you’ll find that individuals pile their plates as high as possible and then go back and do it again.  We may as well “get our money’s worth”.

Most of us also do not know when to tell if we are truly hungry.  We see food and decide that if there is food in front of us, we need to eat it.  We don’t stop and think about whether we are truly hungry.  We then complain about how full we feel, how “stuffed” we are, and can you pass the antacid.  I’m as guilty here as every one else is.  But this time I said no to this monstrosity of food and stopped eating.

The result of this gluttony, of which I ate a less than 1/4 of this meal, was suffering terribly the next day with bloating.  I even had to take an antacid that evening when I got home – which is one of my ways of knowing that I ate too much and for no other reason than I was out with others and would have felt guilty for not eating any of this pile of food.

Time to get off of my “soap box” (wish I had this body :).

soap-box

Time to stop being angry with myself because of over-eating.  Time to remember that if I am going to splurge it should be the best tasting food there is.

Would love to hear how you conquer overeating as I am just a novice here.  Would love to hear your thoughts in the comment section.

3 thoughts on “Gluttony (or Dining Out)

  1. I totally agree…it is almost as if the establishments want to prove value for money! What I think is even more scary is that people feel the need to clear their plate because, ‘I’ve paid for it.’ Many people no longer listen to their bodies saying they are full. The bigger the portions the more people expect…the spiral towards nations with severe health problems. Oops…time to get off my soapbox😉

    Like

    1. So true. Another reason some of us older people feel the need to “clean” their plates is because we were raised by parents who grew up during the depression and WW II when food was scarce. This applies to both my husband and myself. We got in trouble if we didn’t finish the food on our plates. This is a very hard habit for us to break and to learn to stop eating when we are truly satiated (not full).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree with this as well…a child of the 60s my parents always ‘made ‘ us clear our plates. I remember being astounded by a friend who left 1 mouthful on her plate and refused to eat it because she was full. Thankfully I too am now able to do this or gunge the serving to suit my hunger. With age comes wisdom😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

