TIGER BLOOD – What Is It?

The Whole30 use a term that is originally credited to a Charlie Sheen quote? “I’m different. I have a different constitution, I have a different brain, I have a different heart. I got tiger blood, man.” According to the team at the Whole30 one should start to feel this “Tiger Blood” around Day 16. Here is the Whole30’s definition of “Tiger Blodd”.

  1. You are falling asleep more easily and sleeping more soundly.

Okay, sounds good and yes I am falling asleep more easily, but then I never had a problem falling asleep in my own bed. Sleeping more soundly also, but my sleep app doesn’t like to see me in deep or REM sleep for extended periods. It wants me to cycle through light sleep and REM sleep about every 45 minutes to 1 hour. I don’t know which one is healthier?

  1. You have increased energy that remains consistent throughout the day.

I have had a bit more energy over the past couple of days, but for me its been gradual, not just waking up one morning with “Tiger Blood”.

  1. You’ve noticed that your clothes are fitting you better.

I can say a definite yes to this one. My clothes have started fitting better about a week into my Whole30. And for this I am most grateful. And NO, I have not gotten on a scale yet or been tempted to yet. (Whole30 frowns on the use of the scale)

  1. You’re starting to notice improvements at the gym, on the road, or in your sport of choice.

Since I haven’t really brought in any real exercise into my experience here this would be hard for me to assess.

  1. You’re feeling happy—happier than you have in a long time.

I don’t know, maybe a little – I’ll have to get back to you on that one.

What the Whole30 team hope is happening internally with “Tiger Blood” is that your body is adapting to utilizing Fat as an energy source instead of Sugar. That your gut feels better and is actually healing. And that any inflammation you experience has decreased. What this has meant to me is that I am hopefully curbing my Sugar Dragon, that my knees have actually started to feel better and that I do seem to have more focus mentally.

Finally for all those who like to see my food pictures – here’s my unconventional (according to my Husband) breakfast from yesterday morning.

IMG_1622 copy
Breakfast
One thought on “TIGER BLOOD – What Is It?

  1. Congratulations on your progress! Perhaps you can say that you have baby tiger blood. Thanks for explaining what it is! I commend you on controlling your “sugar dragon.” I’m going to remember that term and use it when I see my client tonight. I started coaching her recently, and she struggles with sugar intake. The pictures that you take of your food are fabulous. I see them as not only sharing what your doing and making a record, but as helping you to remember what you ate and valuing what you put into your body. It shows that you value your body by putting the best into it. Brava!

    Like

Leave a Reply

