Breakfast Challenges

It’s now Day 6 of my Whole30 and there have been good moments and bad moments this week.  Breakfast and Hubby have been some of my low points.

First – I am not really a fan of eggs, but a decent Frittata or other creative egg dishes I enjoy.  Just do not put scrambled, poached or over easy eggs in front of me.  So having said that I found a way this week to get through my somewhat aversion to eggs.

The challenge has been finding a way to introduce veggies into my husbands breakfast.  He enjoys eggs, although he has seen them as a “treat” in the past, not something he eats everyday.  Now I may have ruined his opinion of eggs with my efforts to try to bring some vegetables to the breakfast tables.  First I tried tomatoes – day 1 cooked which he put his nose up to.

Day 2 – beautiful Jersey farm fresh Heirloom tomatoes with a little salt and pepper and olive oil.  They made my breakfast, however, hubby once again looked at them like I had put something smelly in front of him (like Limburger – although I like Limbruger – for that matter I have never met a smelly cheese I did not like – but you get my drift here).  He then explained to me that “tomatoes are not Breakfast food”.I asked him whether he liked omelets and he said “sometimes”.  Then he added “I don’t like omelets when I have to wait on a buffet line”.  I looked around my kitchen and noted that I didn’t see any buffet line.  He then said he might like an omelet with mushrooms.

Day 3 – omelet with mushrooms.  This time he took a couple of bites and proceeded to take the mushrooms out of the rest of the omelet claiming I put too many mushrooms in it.  At this point I wanted to throw the plate of remaining mushrooms at his head – but my sanity returned to me and I thought long and hard on how to handle this.

Day 4 – Frittata with mushrooms.  I know, I know – a frittata is just a fancy type of omelet. But it helped and he ate it.  Now understand my husband is not normally a fussy eater, he just has hard held beliefs about what constitutes Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.  And at our age it is hard to change perceptions and habits.

Day 6 – as you see from the picture I tried something different.  Sunday morning and I made a What I found on The Preppy Paleo for a Paleo Blueberry Breakfast Clafoutis.  Okay no veggies, but you can always add some veggies/salad on the side.  Now I admit I found myself while I was enjoying this Sunday Breakfast that it would taste good with a little maple syrup or dusting of powdered sugar, but then I thought I could make this with any type of fruit – nectarines, peaches, apples, raspberries and cherries.

And the best was that Hubby liked it.  I wouldn’t serve it every day and you do need to add some veggies to round out the meal.  And also watch out for the “vanilla” that you add to be Whole30 compliant.  But I almost got a “thumbs up” from Hubby and that is a start.

3 thoughts on “Breakfast Challenges

  1. Hey Alicia,
    Come to my workshop about hydration. It’s this Saturday. Details:

    WORKSHOP: Water Empowers Me! The Hydration Equation
    DATE/TIME: Saturday, August 13th, 11:00 am
    LOCATION:The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

    Like

Leave a Reply

