Whole30 and August 1st

I’ve been beating myself up lately about my weight gain. Here is why – last year around this same time I started on a very restricted diet through a “weight loss” clinic (more about this in another post). I did manage to lose about 40 lbs. over the course of my 11 weeks with the clinic and a few weeks after on my own. Did the diet work – of course it did, however, my biggest fear was gaining the weight back. I managed to keep most of the weight off for about 5 months, then slowly started putting back on the pounds. I know if I am honest that I have put on at least 15 of those pounds back on.

All diets work if you stick with them. Some are healthier than others – but the biggest problem is keeping the weight off. Here are some weight loss stats:

  • In 2012 over $60 Billion was spent on Dieting in the US
  • 50% of Americans are “dieting” at any given time
  • 80% of us try to lose weight on our own

And the worse stat of all: 90% – 95% regain all of their weight (and sometimes more) in 1 to 5 years. Oh yes – this is a very depressing fact.

Does that mean we are all destined for failure? I hope not and I hope to find a way to be in that 5% – 10% that are successful. Or is that fact correct? Do we sabotage ourselves by trying to lose too much weight? Instead should we be focused on how we look, how we feel and not on a number on the scale?

These are just some of my thoughts. But let me end on a positive. I believe that we can make small changes in our daily lives that will lead us to be healthier and maybe even to weigh less on the scale. That is why I am here sharing my journey and hoping that you are willing to share yours.On August 1, 2016 I am going to start a “Whole30”. If you have not heard of this before, check out this website. During my “Whole30” I am hoping to shed some bad habits and re-teach my body to burn fat and not sugar. Yes I will be giving up all sugar other than what I can get from whole fruit and vegetables. Yes I will be giving up grains, wheat and beans. And YES I will be giving up my beloved dairy products – meaning no cheese. This for me will be the hardest.

On August 1, 2016 I am going to start a “Whole30”. If you have not heard of this before, check out this website. During my “Whole30” I am hoping to shed some bad habits and re-teach my body to burn fat and not sugar. Yes I will be giving up all sugar other than what I can get from whole fruit and vegetables. Yes I will be giving up grains, wheat and beans. And YES I will be giving up my beloved dairy products – meaning no cheese. This for me will be the hardest.

I’m not giving these foods up for good, just for 30 days and bit more, but I am hoping to find out what foods trigger my cravings and make me feel unhealthy. I am not expecting this to be easy, but it is just for 30 days. And there are others joining me on this journey and of course I’ll write about it here. Stay tuned……

2 thoughts on “Whole30 and August 1st

  1. Elimination diets are always good finding out what foods are reactive and what foods are not. Please keep in mind that you may find during the 30-days that you react to a food in August and then in December you don’t. For example, cow’s milk is reactive in August. You stop eating it, then in December you eat it without reaction. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

